Strong Women, Soft Hearts – Chapter 2

Strong Women, Soft Hearts – chapter 2

Desire – the Language of the Heart

If you are like me, as well as many others, we have been taught that desires are a bad thing.  I think much of that happens because we lump every desire into the group “fleshly” desires.  I’m learning that not all our desires are fleshly or meant to draw us away from God.  Many of them are there to draw us TO Him.

Let me quote from the chapter…”We are like Swiss cheese, and the holes in us are actually supposed to be there.  The holes are the things that make us who we are.  The holes are the places God has reserved in us for Himself!  The longings identify our real hunger.  A hunger that drives us to Him to be satisfied.” (Nicole Johnson, Freshly Brewed Life.)

What I have learned from this chapter is that I must spend time examining the desires I have; I must investigate what the true longing is that needs to be filled.  Addictions don’t start out as sin…they begin as desires that are not filled in the ways God would see fit.  We don’t want to wait on His timing, His choice of how that desire is filled.  We want it filled NOW and we run to earthly way to fill that desire.  Food, drugs, bad relationships are all things that could have been filled in godly ways.   How often do we eat because we are lonely, sad or just simply bored.  God wants to fill those desires and needs within us!  He didn’t create food to fill that role.  He is all we need for those desires.

Now is a good time to examine the things in our lives that pull us.  What are the roots of these things that pull us?  I just want to encourage you, as well as myself, to examine the desires you have each day…the ones that draw you toward godliness and those that may not.  Take each one to Him and see if He has a different way to fulfill that desire…one that draws you to Him.

Isaiah 55:1-3

Come, all you who are thirsty, come to the waters;
and you who have no money, come, buy and eat!
Come, buy wine and milk without money and without cost.
Why spend money on what is not bread, and your labor on what does not satisfy?
Listen, listen to me, and eat what is good, and your soul will delight in the richest of fare.
Give ear and come to me; hear me, that your soul may live.
I will make an everlasting covenant with you, my faithful love promised to David.

Leave a Reply

