God’s Perfect Timing…Health Update

God’s Perfect Timing…Health Update

Boy!  Lots of changes in my life since my last post.

I have been continuing with physical therapy and have been quite pleased with Sports and More Physical Therapy.  They are not affiliated with any particular physician’s office and I like that.  They don’t have to worry with being loyal to anyone but the patient.  Works for me!  The aquatic therapy has been quite soothing and my strength is increasing in my core.

In February I was diagnosed with hypopnea, which is a form of sleep apnea.  It is when there is a partial obstruction in the airway but the oxygen level consistently drop.  I now have a C-pap machine, which is not my favorite thing in the world, but I do think I’m getting deeper sleep.  I thought it would make a huge difference in the exhaustion I felt all day, and the need to sleep till noon many days, but it didn’t.

About a month ago I was at a place in PT that I felt I was hitting a wall.  The exercises I had been doing were exhausting me when I did them and I was unable to keep progressing to more difficult levels.  I also noticed that I was loosing weight.  Normally I would say, GREAT, but I was not trying.  I lost 7 lbs in two weeks.  I was also detecting a weird taste in my mouth at times.  And like I said, the exhaustion was all consuming.

I asked my dad to come by the next morning with his blood glucose monitor.  I had a suspicion.  I was right.  My fasting blood sugar was 339.  I had/have Type II Diabetes.  The doctor said with the double whammy of heredity and sedentary lifestyle due to my other issues, I didn’t have much of a chance.

I changed my diet right away, even before all my other labwork was back.  Within a week I was feeling better.  My AIC was 11.2, which is pretty bad.  Triglicerides through the roof.  Anyway, rather than go into all the details, suffice it to say there were lots of changes to be made.

I have been working with Jude Carr, the PA with Carolina Family Practice and Sports Medicine.  He has been AWESOME to work with.  He is a young guy, patient with me and explains things so well to me.   It looks like my blood sugar hasn’t been checked since 2007.  If I let myself “go there” in my mind, with all the other blood work I’ve had to determine what was wrong with me, I could get pretty upset about why this wasn’t found before now.  But God’s timing is perfect and I know it’s best to just accept what the Lord has allowed into my life.  So when I go there, I shoo myself back out of there!

My blood sugars are coming down, with my diet changes and with Metformin 500 mg twice a day.  Jude thinks I might need insulin as well, but I’m hoping that won’t be the case.  I also see an endocrinologist in a couple weeks, one I am familiar with and was glad to see him added to my health care team.    I have been back to church, on Sunday mornings only, for two weeks in a row!  I have felt soooooo much better.  It is unbelievable!  I don’t spend 90% of my day in bed any longer.  I SLEEP in my bed.  I might occasionally lay down to rest my back, but it is not home base like it was.  I still have a ways to go with increasing my strength, but I am progressing well with PT, now that we figured out what that wall was that I kept hitting.

I never thought I’d be happy to have diabetes, but honestly, I AM!!

3 thoughts on “God’s Perfect Timing…Health Update

  1. Hey Beth,

    I heard that you had been dx with diabetes. (((Beth))) I’m sorry friend for all that you have been through healthwise in the last couple of years. I’m so thankful though to hear about all that you have been doing and that you are feeling better!

    I’m not sure if you knew that one of my boys was diagnosed with Type 1 last summer. It’s been quite a ride. I know it’s not the same in all manners, but if you ever want to talk diabetes, please let me know.

    Are you familiar with “THe Diabetic Chef”? We met him at a JDRF function and bought his cookbooks, (Haven’t started using them though so I can’t share much there.) Just thought you might be interested.

    Praying for your continued health friend.

    Hugs
    Leslie

  2. Leslie! I didn’t know you had one with diabetes! I haven’t done much blog reading lately. Need to get my Bloglines thing going again. I’m doing pretty good. The diabetes isn’t the biggest thing that bothers me…right now it’s the fibro, but it changes from week to week! And doing the diabetic diet while also being gluten free is interesting, but doable.

    Blessings to you, my friend!!!

Leave a Reply

