A Couple of My Favorite Gluten Free Soups


A Couple of My Favorite Gluten Free Soups


Last week when the weather here in NC was so bitterly cold,  we chowed down on a couple new soup recipes.  I thought I’d pool several of my favorite soup recipes in one post and share them with you.  I’ll post the recipe as I originally received it and put my changes in red, in case you want to share it with someone who can still use the gluten version.

Cheesburger Soup

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pound ground beef
  • 3/4 cup chopped onion
  • 3/4 cup shredded carrots (thinly sliced)
  • 3/4 cup chopped celery (I left this out…we don’t do celery)
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 4 cups cubed potatoes
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour (white rice flour)
  • 2 cups cubed Cheddar cheese (I used shredded)
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup sour cream

Directions

  1. In a large pot, melt 1 tablespoon butter or margarine over medium heat: cook and stir vegetables and beef , until beef is brown.
  2. Stir in basil and parsley. Add broth and potatoes. Bring to a boil, then simmer until potatoes are tender, about 10-12 minutes.
  3. Melt the remainder of butter in a saucepan and stir in flour. Add the milk, stirring until smooth on low heat.
  4. Gradually add milk mixture to the soup, stirring constantly. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to simmer. Stir in cheese. When cheese is melted, add sour cream and heat through. Do not boil.

Let me say…this was GOOD soup.  I doubled the recipe so I can also say that it freezes well.   I originally left the sour creme out and my family loved it, but I personally added it to my bowl and it REALLY enhanced the flavor.


Delicious “Virus Killing Soup”

Friends of mine shared this recipe with me when cold and flu season began.  I didn’t think much about it till we started getting some cold symptoms so wanted to give it a try.  I thought it was going to taste nasty, but to my surprise, it was awesome!  Now I make it just because we love it.   The orginal sourse was a blog called “Eat At Home.” I”ll post the recipe as I make it.

Ingredients

  • the meat from one whole chicken
  • 1-1 1/2 bulbs of fresh garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbs. salt
  • 2 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1 tsp. dried rosemary
  • cayenne pepper, about 1 tsp.
  • ground black pepper to taste
  • 2 boxes gluten free chicken broth
I begin by using boneless chicken to the equivilent to one whole chicken.    Add the other ingredients listed above.  I usually eyeball it, but occasionally will add water to have more broth.   Start by bringing this to a boil and then down to a simmer while the chicken begins to cook.

At this point add the vegetables…
  • sliced carrots
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped  (I omitted)
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 fennel bulb (I omitted)
  • 1/2 cup white wine, optional
  • 1-2 cans diced tomatoes
After adding the vegetables, I usually scoop out the chicken, chop it up, and then add it back to the pot.  Cover and allow the  ingredients in the pot to simmer for an hour or longer if you desire.   You may need to add water as it cooks down.    Don’t worry about the tons of garlic or the cayenne.  It is not overwhelming with garlic flavor and the cayenne warms it up and opens your sinuses but it not “spicy hot” at all.  Enjoy!


9 thoughts on “A Couple of My Favorite Gluten Free Soups

  1. I have one that probably will not even think of eating it, as he generally won’t eat anything where foods are mixed. However, the other picky ones will probably like it because of the thickness factor. Having food issues is hard enough, adding preferences to the mix makes it so not fun most of the time.

  2. To save yourself time, use 4 large, or 6 regular, boneless chicken breasts. Put those and the initial list of ingredients into your pot. Bring that to a boil. That will need to simmer for a good 30 minutes. During that 30 minutes, be cutting up your vegetables. At the end of that time, carefully remove the chicken and cut up that meat into smaller pieces. Put them back into the pot, with the vegetables. Make sure all the stuff in the pot is well covered with water. Bring that to a boil. Bring the heat down to a simmer. Cover the pot and simmer for 1 hour. Check on it frequently and add water as needed. Some of it may evaporate, but the lid being on the pot will help prevent that to a certain extent. You can simmer longer than an hour if you like, but the longer you simmer, the more water will evaporate, so keep checking it.

    I hope that helps!

    • This soup is really good! I knew that I wouldn’t need nearly this much soup, so I used two cornish hens and half the amount of other ingredients. I also added some homemade noodles from scratch near the end, and it was delicious!

      • I’m glad you liked it! You could make a big batch and freeze some next time, now that you know it’s a winner! Thanks for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

