A New Decade is Upon Us

A New Decade is Upon Us


January 1st, 2010!  When I was a kid I could never fathom years that began with a “2.”  Just seemed to futuristic to me, like a Sci-Fi movie or something.  But God has allow us to enter into the year 2010 and it is our responsibility to honor Him in each and every day of it.  I pray I look more like Him at the end of this year than I did at the end of the last one.

Many of my friends started their “read the Bible through in a year” plans today.  I honestly wasn’t planning to start one because I’ve always failed to complete it in the past.  I don’t enjoy reading.  I know, sounds awful, but it’s true.  There are certain books that will grab me from the get go and I’m in there for the long haul, but in general, I am NOT a bibliovore.  But I know I am missing so much by not committing to this exercise in diligence.

As I was looking at plans and talking with Andrew, he suggested I go to Bible Gateway and check out the auditory Bible readings.  So I did and I absolutely LOVE listening to Max McLean read from the scriptures.  Since my fibromyalgia has taken on a life of itself, reading has become increasingly difficult.  Well, I should say that it is the comprehending and focusing that is difficult.  I can read something four times and not be able to tell you what I read.  But I decided that I would follow a chronological plan, which makes more sense to my brain, and listen to it online while following along in my Bible.  I loved it tonight!  Andrew was in the room with me and we even discussed some of what we read.  It was neat.

Anyway, whether you commit to reading the Bible through in a year or not, we desperately need to be IN the Word daily.  Please prayerfully consider it if you have not.  I have failed so much this last year and my spiritual walk proves it.  I need His healing power, not only in my body, but in my spirit.

Blessings to you as you begin the New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

