The Gluten Free Dinner Table – Week of Feb. 15th

The Gluten Free Dinner Table – Week of Feb. 15th

I will not lie… I have only used one of these recipes this week, but I have tried them all and want to share them with you.  I’m still in a lot of pain with my back and well, it was easier to stick with things I was familiar with making.

Beef Stroganoff

To be honest, I’m not sure the proper way to post this recipe since it was one I tweaked to meet my needs and to meet the ingredients I had in the cabinets, so I’ll make sure I give credit where credit is due.   I found this recipe on Recipezaar and the comments were so interesting, I was intrigued.   There were a couple ingredients that I’d never used in my Plain Jane stroganoffs in the past and I was hoping with the tweaking that it would be one that my husband would be game for having again.  The key with Kenny and stroganoff is…don’t let him even come CLOSE to seeing sour cream.  It doesn’t matter what the final result is, if he knows there is sour cream…I’m just sayin’.

Here is the recipe with my changes…

Gluten Free Beef Stroganoff

SERVES 4

  • 1 1/2 lbs  beef (ground beef, stir fry beef, thinly sliced steak or roast…your preference.)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 5 tablespoons Smart Balance
  • 3 tablespoons brown rice flour
  • 1 can gluten free beef broth
  • 1 tablespoon catsup
  • 1 teaspoon gluten free Worcestershire sauce (Lea and Perrins)
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 dash nutmeg (I used apple pie spice because that’s what I had and it had nutmeg IN it!)
  • 1/2 lb mushrooms
  • 1 cup sour cream, room temperature
  1. Set sour cream aside to warm to room temperature.
  2. Brown beef until almost done, then remove from frying pan.
  3. Saute onions and mushrooms in  Smart Balance.
  4. Stir in flour.
  5. Gradually add broth, stirring constantly.
  6. Add catsup, worcestershire, pepper, basil, and nutmeg.
  7. Return beef to gravy mixture.
  8. Simmer at least 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  9. Just before serving, stir in sour cream and heat.
  10. Do not allow to boil.
  11. Serve with brown rice pasta or rice.
This was REALLY good!  The spices gave it a slightly sweet taste and my husband DID like it.   I don’t feel the need to rush out and get nutmeg, because the apple pie spices worked wonderfully and I HAVE them already, but I’d try the nutmeg if I had it.  We served the dish with Tinkyada pasta but I think I would prefer brown rice.  You know, rice and gravy just kind of go together.   This made me think back to when my mother would make sausage stroganoff and we served it on toast.  I think that could work well here too, as long as your toast is gluten free.

Sausage Rolls

I really need to make these again because they are one of Samuel’s favorite things for breakfast.  It is very simple and they reheat nicely.  The recipe is here on Pamela’s website.


Ginger Lemon Girl’s Everyday Chocolate Cake

Let me first of all say…NO WAY to having this every day!  It is just too good!  If you do choose to have it every day, email me in a few weeks and I’ll send you the link to Weight Watchers on the web.  😉

I made this cake for Samuel’s 19th birthday last fall, making two round layers and using icing from a can.  You can NOT tell that this is gluten free.  We served it to over 25 college students and no one was the wiser.  It felt like such an accomplishment!  You will notice a carrot cake recipe on the page I linked above.  I have not personally made this but have heard rave reviews from the gals on the Gluten Free Recipes email loop.

Let me know if you try one of these and how it turns out!  I love hearing from my readers!

2 thoughts on “The Gluten Free Dinner Table – Week of Feb. 15th

  1. HOW awesome is that Beth!! SO cool! I’m so glad that Samuel and his friends loved the cake! that’s my FaV cake ever!!! 😉 Thanks so much for the super sweet shoutout!! i had no idea you posted this!! 😉

  2. Pingback: Tweakalicious Stroganoff Recipe! « He is the Vine; I am One of His Branches

Leave a Reply

