I’m Still Here!

I’m Still Here!

I am amazed that I still have people viewing my blog, even when I haven’t posted lately!  I want you to know how much I appreciate it.  I see that many are looking for gluten free recipes in the searches that bring you here.  I hope the few I’ve shared have been a help to you.  I’m not a chef by any stretch.  I’m a southern cook who doesn’t measure things when I don’t have to do so and my husband is a meat and potatoes man, so when ideas run low, it’s back to the hubby basics.  That’s pretty much where I’ve been lately as the last two weeks have been difficult ones.

Tuesday of last week was the delivery of our last Wheat Montana order.  It was an order of over 29 thousand pounds, 8 thousand of those being at the Louisburg drop and the rest in Cary.  All went well except for a possible labeling error.  We are still checking into that.  I am so blessed to have Nancy O’Connor who is handling the bulk of the Cary delivery for me now.  She is full of energy and did a great job, for the second time.  The Forney’s who handle the Louisburg drop are a blessing to me and the families they minister to in Louisburg.  The week before this delivery was full of calculation and order forms.  I’ll be ok if I don’t see an Excel document for a bit!

One exciting thing that took place at the delivery, at least for me, was watching Andrew.  Since he has his back brace for scoliosis and kyphosis, he wasn’t allowed to lift the heavy bags and buckets at the delivery.  But his job was just as important as I put him at the entrance of the parking lot with a huge orange sign to signal the member where to enter to pick up their wheat.  I’m sure that sign was a relief to many who were driving in unfamiliar territory.  He was starting to grow weary of his job around 11 a.m.  We had been on site since 8:30 a.m.   Not long after that a couple young men walked up to him, very nicely dressed in black suits with backpacks.  Their bikes had been parked across the street I found out later.

Andrew has had a desire for over a year now to have a job so that he can be a witness to his coworkers.  With his workload for school, that hasn’t been possible.  Little did we know that holding a big orange sign would give him opportunity to share his love for Christ with two who are only “pretty confident” that they will be in heaven one day.  My first reaction to their approaching him was to run over and give them a one liner and send them on their way.  But God clearly held me in my place so Andrew would have opportunity to be a light for Him.  I kept looking for a signal from him that he wanted to be rescued from this awkward situation, but it never came.  He didn’t even look over at me.  He relayed to me later how easy it must be for those with little knowledge to get sucked into this cult because of how they present so many of the similarities with followers of Christ.  But it’s the differences that are key.

Overall Andrew spoke with these men for 20-30 minutes.  He learned a lot about what they do believe and was able to discuss things in detail with his dad that night.  It was a life teaching moment for him, and me, and I’m sure he will feel more prepared the next time he encounters the men in black.

Ever since the delivery my pain has been much worse.  I went to the doctor on Thursday and we plan an epidural cortisone injection for Feb. 24th.  I have pain down my right leg which just started within the last month.  It is getting much worse though, as I thought I was going to be stranded in the tub while Kenny was at church yesterday.  The pain was so bad, I thought I’d have to wait till he got home to help me out, but thankfully, I was able to get into a position that lessened the spasms and helped my muscles to relax.  I’m going to PT tomorrow and hopefully that will help.  I feel pretty much back to square one….well, I actually feel at square negative one, if there is such a thing.

I have several meats in the freezer so I’m going to attempt finding some new gf recipes for them that I can post in the next few days.  I’m thinking the crock pot needs a workout, don’t you think?

I’d love to hear from you!  Comment away, especially if you have liked a certain recipe that I’ve posted.

Blessing!!!

3 thoughts on “I’m Still Here!

  1. …I found your blog some time ago, and I’ve been following it, as I’ve enjoyed your faith-based entries. We are a healthy-eating family, but do not suffer with Celiac. A friend of mine has a husband and daughter who do suffer with this, and I’ve shared your blog with them.

    I am glad that Andrew was bold in sharing his faith and that he was prepared to answer on behalf of the Lord with the real Word of God!

    I also felt moved to write to suggest chiropractic for you and for Andrew. So much of your suffering–and Andrew’s–might be able to be helped with the right chiropractor….not just any chiropractor, but one who has experience and insight into these conditions.

    I will not pressure you, but I’ll pray for you.

    The Power that made the body, heals the body; He does it from Above-down, Inside-out…..not through earthly means. This is the belief that my husband holds in his practice. Healing comes from within….he only sees his role in helping to remove the interference so the body can do what God created it to do.

    In health…

    ~Donna

  2. Donna,

    Thank you so much for your comment! I am glad that my posts are an encouragement to others. I am glad to share what the Holy Spirit is doing in my life in comforting me…that is as it should be.

    In regards to a chiropractor, I have seen a wonderful, godly chiropractor for many years and I fully believe his practice has kept me from surgery on more than one occasion. Unfortunately, even he told me last year that they were doing all they could do for me and for Andrew. They were faithful to adjust us and put the bones where they should be, but for me personally, there was so much inflammation in the surrounding muscles, etc that a cortisone injection was the answer for me last fall. In fact, that particular area, my SI joint, is still doing well. My lumbar area has a bulging disc and irritated nerve and cortisone hopfully will relieve that as well. My son continues to get adjustments while wearing his brace for his hereditary kyphosis.

    Take care and feel free to comment anytime!

Leave a Reply

