The Gluten Free Dinner Table – Week of January 11th

It’s been a busy week here in the kitchen!  As I said, cooking isn’t my favorite thing to do, but I think God is granting me grace, or mercy, whichever one I need most, so that I am enjoying this more than I thought!  I am low carbing it right now, trying to shed many extra pounds and the recipes I am posting will fall into that category, as well as being gluten free.

There were a couple really crazy days where Kenny and Andrew got Stouffer’s from the freezer, while I threw together something small for me.  That is one plus to being the only one in the house who has to eat this way.  There isn’t squat out there in the frozen section that is gluten free AND good, IMO.  So Stouffer’s is a blessing on occasion.  I have frozen a great deal of stuff lately by making large batches and that will help as well.

Gluten Free Meatballs

I got this idea from The Schwarzbein Principle Cookbook and adapted it to me by needs.  It is still low carb, but now GF.

  • 2 lbs. lean ground beef or turkey
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 cup gluten free breadcrumbs (I made my own from leftover GF bread)
  • 2 Tbs brown mustard
  • 2 Tbs wheat free Tamari sauce
  • salt and pepper  as desired

Mix together ingredients in a bowl.  I just squished it together with my hands.  Form into 1 inch balls and place on greased cookie sheet, 1 inch apart so they are not touching each other.  If you want to freeze them, put them in the freezer like this and then when frozen, place them in a freezer container or plastic freezer bag.  To cook, place thawed meatballs on greased cookie sheet and bake at 450 degrees for 10-12 minutes.  Will want to turn them a couple times while baking.   These are great alone or with your favorite sauce.


We had Quiche again this week, using the basic recipe from two posts ago.  I wanted to please everyone so I made one with swiss cheese and bacon; one with swiss, bacon and spinach; and the last one with sausage, pepper jack and other cheeses in a mexican blend.   They were all great, but I DID learn that only TWO will fit in my oven at the same time!


Crockpot Pizza Soup

Samuel and his roommate came over for dinner Thursday evening and it was a COLD day, GREAT for soup!  And having it in the crockpot made the house smell yummy all day.  My neighbor who stopped by even thought so!  This recipe is from a wonderful blog where Stephanie used her crockpot EVERY day last year for a different thing.  I have used several of her recipes and they are ALL gluten free.  For the link to her recipe, click HERE.  Everyone liked it and some loved it.  Next time I will use a different italian sausage as I didn’t love the chicken italian sausage in this recipe.  I also doubled the recipe and halved it before adding the gluten free pasta.  You do NOT want to freeze gf pasta.  You don’t even want to save it for the next day…gets major mushy.   Freeze however much soup you choose and add pasta to the rest.  When you thaw out the soup on a later date, just cook the pasta separately and add it to the reheated soup.  We will definitely have this again!

The Bacon Wrapped Chicken got pushed back a few days, but we will probably have it over the weekend.  The recipe is here.  I’ll post the taste verdict in a day or so.

Hmmmm, what about next week?

Leave a Reply

