The Gluten Free Dinner Table – Week of Jan. 4th

There are very few gluten free options at grocery stores that are quick and easy, prepackaged, etc.  Even if baking/cooking is not your thing, it BECOMES your thing!  It’s the only way you can survive and not be sick every day.  I am not in love with my kitchen or anything that happens in it…well, maybe when my Honey kisses the COOK!  I’m going to be posting our menus, probably more after the fact than before, and hope they are helpful to someone searching for simple meals.  I’m not a gourmet chef and you won’t see recipes with weird ingredients here.

I’m also attempting to make large batches of some things so that I have some quick meals in the freezer for those hectic days.


Ginger Lemon Girl’s Spicy Chili

Carrie has an awesome chili recipe that I have made several times.  I originally knew it as “Carrie’s Chili” and thought I had measured my spices wrong when Kenny kept saying, “Wow!  This is spicy!”   NOW I know it was SUPPOSED to be spicy!  LOL!  I’ll probably decrease the spices a bit next time for my hubby’s sake. although I personally thought it was awesome!

Below is the recipe.  Carrie is an awesome cook and loves to create GF versions of so many things.  She has been a blessing to me on my journey.  If you would like to benefit from her recipes as well,  join the Yahoo Group she has started or visit her blog Ginger Lemon Girl.Com.

  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • 1 (15 oz.) can red kidney beans (with liquid) (
  • 1 (15 oz.) can petit-diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup diced sweet onion
  • 1/2 cup diced green peppers
  • 1/4 cup diced celery
  • 1 teaspoon cumin powder
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground chipolte
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons brown sugar
  • 1 cup water

Brown ground beef in a dutch oven or large pot. Drain off fat. Add
onions, green peppers, and celery to ground beef and cook 3-5 minutes
until vegetables are soft. Add remaining ingredients and simmer for 30
minutes to an hour. Makes roughly 6 servings.

This would be excellent in the crock pot all day, as the flavors would
truly have time to blend.

Note from Beth…I leave out the beans, green peppers and celery for my family’s preferences. Still great!
This would be great on hot dogs or used as a taco filling. Freezes well too!

Gluten Free Basic Quiche

This next recipe is a combination of two recipes that I found at All Recipes.  Great site with tons of very helpful comments.  I have always loved a quiche but thought they were out because of the crust.  I was thankful to find recipes for crustless quiches at this site and I altered the recipe to meet our needs.   Below is a basic recipe that has loads of possibilities!

  • 3 -4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup gluten free baking mix (Pamela’s is what I used)
  • 2 Tbs. butter or margarine, melted
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 cup cooked meat (ham, crumbled bacon, sausage…)
  • 1 cup shredded cheese (swiss, colby jack, pepper jack, cheddar or a combo)

Place cooked meat and shredded cheese  in the bottom of a greased (I used a GF spray) pie dish.   Whisk together the eggs, milk, baking mix, butter and pepper.  Pour over the meat and cheese.   Bake uncovered in a 350 degree oven till knife inserted in the middle comes out clean, 30-45 minutes. Let stand approx. 10 minutes before serving…if you can!

Yummy additions can be chopped onions, broccoli, asparagus, spinach…the possibilities are limitless!


Other meals we threw together this week were…


Samuel’s Famos Grilled Pork Loin Chops – desparate for meat…Samuel and Kenny got some frozen sliced pork loin out of the freezer and Samuel grilled them every so slowly, since they were still frozen, and basted them with Bone Suckin’ Sauce.  They were A.W.E.S.O.M.E!  Bone Suckin’ Sauce is GF as were the Beanie Weanies they had on the side. 😉  Gotta love how men cook!


Italian Beef

I was not feeling like going to the store one night and decided to throw some frozen beef stew into the crock pot.  I used to cook beef in the crock pot with Pace Picante Sauce but Pace products have been declared NOT GF, so that was out.  I poured in some Kraft Italian Salad Dressing and we were good to go.  Great taste and very tender.  Went well with potatoes and green beans.

The Family Night Special! –  I won’t even bold this one as there is no recipe involved.  Well, maybe there is!

  • 1 loving hubby
  • 2 crazy sons who love messing with fire
  • campfire outside on the driveway
  • GF hotdogs
  • homemade french fries
  • 1 bag of marshmellows

We had a blast but let me tell ya…it is hard to roast a hotdog on a skewer!  It’s better to get it a little dirty and use a MUCH LONGER stick from the woods!




2 thoughts on “The Gluten Free Dinner Table – Week of Jan. 4th

  1. Thanks for the stroganoff recipe. I made it last night and my hubby and I both loved it! I made it with the rice noodles but I think next time I’ll make it with brown rice. I used beef polska kielbasa because I couldn’t find any other beef sausage in the store. What kind do you use?

    Blessings,
    Randee

  2. So glad you liked it! The time I used sausage, it was just regular pork sausage…Johnsonville, I think. Either that or Jimmy Dean. I used half sausage and half ground beef. That combo left just enough grease for the onions without having leftover greasy yuck sitting on top. Hope that helps!

    Beth

Leave a Reply

