The Blessings of a New Year

2008 had many blessings for our family, no doubt.  It also brought a great deal of difficulty and change that I was not prepared for…who is?  I am praying that 2009 will bring me an opportunity to take charge of my health.  Let me elaborate…

I mentioned this to Andrew on the way home from West Virginia yesterday…that I was realizing that I could not make being healthier a “goal” for 2009.  I can do more research on Celiac and learn new recipes that make life with Celiac easier.  I can work slowly to increase my exercise so that my energy increases and my back strengthens.  I can eat properly and loose weight which will also improve my health.  BUT…those are thing within MY control.  I love to be in control, I really do!  But I’m not the One IN control!  God is the creator of my life and the One that controls my body and if it functions properly or not.

Part of me wants to get bent out of shape over that fact, to be honest.  How sinful THAT would be!  No one wants to have ill health, but I am to welcome ANY circumstance into my life that molds it into the likeness of His dear Son.   Let’s face it, there is a great deal of molding still to be done on this piece of clay.  I need to choose to be prepared for hardship, as the Bible tells us it will come, but not live day to day with a fatalistic mindset.  The enemy would be so thrilled if I lived each day waiting for the “other shoe to drop,” wouldn’t he?!  I’m not going to give him the satisfaction…at least not today.

So today I am recognizing 2009 as a blessing (#9)!  During this year I would LIKE to post more day to day blog posts.  They will not likely be too exciting, but I would like to blog more about Celiac and recipes I am working on each day.  Cooking is becoming more important to me than it has in the past; hopefully it will bless others that may be on this journey.

One thing I would like to begin this month is cooking in bulk.  My energy level is still quite low, but I can handle more in the kitchen than I could months ago.  There are days though, when the schedule is crazy and cooking is hard.  I would like to be able to pull something out of the freezer and have dinner be a breeze!  My plan is to make a menu for the next couple weeks that includes many dishes that can be frozen.   For example, one night we will have chili and I will make an insanely large amount of it and freeze the rest for future meals.  I’m going to start posting recipes, especially gluten free ones, so others can benefit.  Maybe even pics!

Tonight I cooked beef stew in the crock pot.  I normally would have cooked it in Pace Picante sauce, but there has been some recent chatter about Pace products no longer being gluten free.  Until I find out what’s going on there, I decided to use Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing.  It was quite good!  Rice would have been best to go with it, but I was later getting it going so we had potatoes instead.  With green beans, a large pot so there would be some for another night, it was a tasty end to the day.  I should add that as another blessing! #10…my crock pot!  It is one of my “hand maidens”.  Read Proverbs 31 and you will know what I mean!

What’s YOUR favorite “hand maiden?”

One thought on “The Blessings of a New Year

Leave a Reply

