Higher Ground

We had our monthly Higher Ground meeting Friday night.  For those of you not familiar with Higher Ground, it is a group of college age young people who Kenny and I meet with monthly for Bible study and encouragement to not settle for the “world’s” view of college students, but to stay on Higher Ground and walk a different path that honors God.  Great group of young people!  They are serious about their walk with the Lord and they care enough about others to make them feel welcome.  We had a full crowd, even though Samuel and Andrew were in Charlotte for the National Apologetics Conference, WHICH they came home TOTALLY stoked about!  I could sit back and listen to  young people talk about the things of God all day!!!  It encourages me to make sure *I* am where *I* should be in these things and it encourages me to keep encouraging THEM to stand strong and be bold.  Watching their growth from a distance is a blessing.  We had a couple new kids and I hope they were encouraged in the Lord and felt like they want to return.  I’ve always felt that God put specific kids in Higher Ground…despite MY efforts to get it to grow at times, His timing and purpose has been somewhat different than my own.  It isn’t like we need to change something to make it more enjoyable to the kids.  We have two that drive over an hour every month to attend!  But it serves a unique purpose and God brings us newbies in HIS timing, not ours.  So it’s easy to say that #5 on my list of 1000 blessings is Higher Ground.  I could call is 5-15 or 20, but I’ll just keep them as a unit.  They bless us SO much!!

One thought on “Higher Ground

  1. Thanks, Mrs. Branch! You and Mr. Branch and the group definitely make it on my list of blessings! I don’t know what I’d do without the group, because over the past year and couple of months, I’d have to say that almost all of my closest friends are at Higher Ground now. Thanks for working so hard to bless us, even when you probably would rather not have your home invaded by a bunch of talkative young people. 🙂

Leave a Reply

