Update on EACH Branch on This Vine

Samuel is home, safe and sound and STILL exhausted from the trip! He got in around 1 a.m. and I had to wake him at noon the next day. He probably could have slept straight through, but I knew he needed to get his body back in the right time zone. He also doesn’t have the BEST eating habits in the world, but he’s a big boy now. I just make sure to invite him over at least once a week for a good home cooked meal with veggies he likes.

He’s gotten unpacked and has his place cleaned up. I hung out with his yesterday while he cleaned…I knitted…it was cool that he wanted to spend time with his mom. He is really growing in the aspect of considering others more than himself. He went up to one of the widows at church this morning who has given of what she had to help send him to Alaska and gave her a hug. She was so excited to see him back and I was so excited to see him give of himself.

Classes start back at NCSU in a few days. He has his books and is “joyously awaiting the end of the coming school year!” Cute!

Kenny’s MRI results were good. He does not have anything torn in his knee. He has a popliteal cyst behind that knee from the swelling related to twisting it the week prior. It should go down on it’s own. The doc put him on prednisone for 5 days for what he thinks is/was gout in his wrist. We had considered this earlier but was told it wasn’t possible in the wrist. Dr. Andrew has a few words to say about that Urgent Care doc’s opinion!

Kenny starts physical therapy again this week for his hips/back. I hope they will be able to help him. He wakes up many nights with muscle spasms.  I try to help work them out with massage, but it doesn’t always help.  And you know me, I can’t stand it when I can’t fix something!

Andrew will be beginning his senior year of high school this week!  Wow!  We never planned to go this far with the homeschooling thing.  LOL!  One year at a time and God has us all the way to the end.  He has been so good to us!  Andrew will have a busy year with school, continuing to take piano from Dr. McKee and volunteering as a proofreader for an online magazine…Regenerated Magazine.  Andrew wants to go into journalism and write for magazines like World.  He has actually written an article for Regenerated Magazine that I think goes in the September issue.  Andrew’s blog is linked to the right and Regenerated Magazine is linked on his blog.  Feel free to encourage the budding author!

It has been an extremely difficult week for me.  I threw my back out, once again, the evening Samuel was trying to get on a plane home.  I’m not sure how I did it, but I did it and have been trying to regain ground all week.  My wheat order came in on Wednesday and it was very difficult to do with the pain from my back as well as the neuropathy with the Celiac.  Everyone was great though.  I even had a friend pray with me at one point when she could tell I was hurting.  So precious.  Thanks, Donna!

I went to church today for the first time in a couple weeks.  I wasn’t prepared to be all emotional about it.  But I was in pain, alternating ibuprophen and tylenol arthritis throughout the day to get by.  But I really felt the effects of being so isolated the last month or so.  I mean, I have been around people some, but it just doesn’t feel the same right now.  I feel different.  Odd.  Dare I say …weird.  I don’t want to be the center of attention.  But unless I lie and say “fine” when asked how I am….

This has been so discouraging.  Kenny tries to encourage me about how “well” I’m doing on my diet.  But I don’t FEEL well yet and finding out that some of these issues make take months or years to resolve is more than disheartening.  I want to go visit Julie!  I want to visit my sister and my brother! I want to go out to dinner with my husband!  I don’t want to cook for every meal every single day!

Please know that I am not shaking my fist at God.  Absolutely not!  I could not deal with this without Him to carry me through.  He reminds me that I can talk to my friends and family on the phone….LOL…or chat on Facebook!  He reminds me that my hubby is home with me every night and eating out is a want, not a need.  He has blessed me with a WONDERFUL crockpot where I can dump everything in all at once and let it go for hours till it’s done.  He reminds me that the damage my body has be dealt can be reversed.  It may take a long time, and I’ll have to eat this way forever, but it isn’t gonna kill me.  But I can’t say that there is any part of it that is enjoyable.  It just isn’t.  But I’m learning that you don’t have to enjoy a situation to be blessed by it.  I am meeting many new people, online and in real life, and I have many opportunities to encourage others who are walking the same path.  I don’t try to sugar coat things.  I’m real…and far too blunt at times.  But if I can share the love of Christ with someone through this…well, have at it, God!  That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it?

I don’t know what His plans are for me.  A lot is up in the air…my wheat co-op, and whatever He wants of me as far as a possible Celiac ministry…I can SO see this coming up.  But right now, just one day at a time.

One thought on “Update on EACH Branch on This Vine

Leave a Reply

