6/17 – Update on Samuel and the Campus Crusade Alaska Project

Samuel is safe and sound in Anchorage, Alaska. He arrived around 1:45 a.m. on Tuesday morning. They are four hours behind us, so it was not quite 10 p.m. Alaska time. I spoke to him this afternoon on the phone and he said they stayed up a good 3-4 more hours getting settled and playing football with the benefit of the extra daylight. FYI, sunset was between 11:30 and midnight for them and sunrise after 4 a.m. this morning! Even then it isn’t really dark…more like dusk, due to the angle of the sun to the earth.

He was quite tired when we spoke, physically, because today was a scavenger hunt around Anchorage to get familiar with the city and where everything was located. The kicker was…they rode bikes. He said he probably did 15-20 miles. His bod isn’t QUITE used to that and it concerns him that he won’t be able to keep up.

This week is also devoted to getting a full-time job, which will be the basis for their witnessing opportunities during his time there. He begins the job hunt tomorrow, so please pray for God to make clear what would be the best fit for Samuel.

I am also glad to report that Andrew is much better (please accept my apologies for the bucket statement in the last email). He wasn’t pleased that everyone knew that fact, so my deepest apologies. In hindsight, I think he was dealing with one of his rare migraines. I am also better in regards to the sore throat I was getting. In fact, that seems all but gone. However, I will be attempting to get checked out by a doctor to rule out, or in, fibromyalgia. I need some help learning how to deal with what is going on with me. Please lift Kenny up in prayer as well. He is at Mountain Top Youth Camp this week as a counselor and has a painful case of gout in his foot. He has considered the closest Urgent Care Center, but alas, it has only been a consideration at this point. I can’t stand knowing he is in pain and there’s nothing I can do. I’m sure he feels the same way about me.

Again, thank you for your prayers and encouragement for my family. As soon as Samuel sends an update by email, I will pass it along.

Leave a Reply

