My Crossroads

A Hearth Keeper friend posted these verses this morning and they meant so much to so many of us on Hearth Keepers. We are all still grieving over the death of little Knox. Life needs to go on, but it is sometimes hard to get back on the path. What a reminder to pray for his family. If WE feel the grief so strongly, I cannot fathom how they feel today.

For me, getting back on the path means taking my struggle with my weight to the foot of the cross. That is where all my paths should lead, but I frequently walk another direction on my own. I’m feeling really weak right now and I know I cannot walk this road, or any other, without Him walking beside me to help me up when I fall. Here are the verses….

Jeremiah 6:16

This is what the LORD says:
“Stand at the crossroads and look;
ask for the ancient paths,
ask where the good way is, and walk in it,
and you will find rest for your souls.”

My path began with my first Weight Watchers meeting this morning. The Lord has been guiding me all week, giving me a Hearth Keeper team for this next Biggest Looser round to encourage and pray for me AND giving me a group of local homeschoolers who are already doing WW to encourage me at the meetings. An email this week came encouraging other homeschoolers to join them at the Cary WW meeting this morning. They have lost 50 something, 40 something and 40 something lbs since the fall. They look great. So today I was able to sit with 3 women I know and not feel alone. 2 other homeschoolers took them up on their offer as well, one of which I had met many years ago. I have encouragement all over the place. Now I need to focus on the One I am doing this for…He is the only REAL reason to do this. I will be able to serve him much better in a healthy body. One day I hope to have grandchildren and I want to be a good grandmother and ONLY be in that rockin’ chair when they NEED rockin’!!!!!

From May 3, 2007

Leave a Reply

