What is Your Lifesong?

Those of you who don’t know me well, will soon find out how much I love music, especially Christian Contemporay music. A few days ago I was listening to K-Love and this song came on that I had heard many times before. It had been a difficult week – beginning with the heart-breaking news of death of homeschooling parents in PA on Sunday, mama going into the hospital on Monday, the ups and downs of busy days taking the boys to their various activities, and ending on Friday with a surprise visit to the orthodontist in Chapel Hill – drove an hour for them to do basically nothing and probably have to go BACK this coming week.

The frustration of the wasted visit revealed my inner man to me, and to Andrew. I was totally ticked off after having to ask someone else to take Samuel to work, driving all that way, taking 15 minutes to find a place to park, only for them to remove a loose bracket instead of rebonding it. The secretary could have told me that the people on call couldn’t do that. Why didn’t she THINK? She new I was coming from an hour away.

When Andrew informed me of what they did, or didn’t do, my inner man was very evident to him. He “thought” I would respond that way. (Now HOW would he know how I would respond? I mean, REALLY!) I thought about going to the back and letting everyone know how I felt, but I knew inside that it would serve no purpose. And it wouldn’t honor the Lord in the frame of mind I was stewing in. So we left. The realization of Andrew watching my response was so clear to me….he wasn’t a little boy anymore, but he still was watching to see how his Mom would respond. The Lord was the one that made sure I was aware of the eyes on me. He enabled me to take a deep breath and give it to Him.

The song I have below is by Casting Crowns and is called Lifesong. It is all about how we reflect Him, or not, in our daily lives. Do our words and actions bring a smile to the Lord? Or do they grieve His heart. We have so many chances each day to offer Him a sacrifice. Will it be one of a sweet smelling savor? Or will it have a horrific odor that causes Him to turn away?

Thankfully, I was able to teach Andrew through this that I had a choice. I could complain all day about it, or I could respond with an attitude of not knowing why, but knowing God had a purpose in allowing it. I may never know what that purpose was, and that is ok. He knows and that is all that matters.

What is YOUR lifesong?


LIFESONG (by Casting Crowns)

Empty hands held high

Such small sacrifice

Now joined with my life

I sing in vain tonight

May the words I say

And the things I do

Make my lifesong sing

Bring a smile to you

Let my lifesong sing to you

Let my lifesong sing to you

I want to sign your name

To the end of this day

Lord led my heart was true

Let my lifesong sing to you

Lord I give my life

A living sacrifice

To reach a world in need

To be your hands and feet

So may the words I say

And the things I do

Make my lifesong sing

Bring a smile to you


Hallelujah, Hallelujah let my lifesong sing to you

Hallelujah, Hallelujah let my lifesong sing to you

Hallelujah, Hallelujah let my lifesong sing to you

11/20/05


Leave a Reply

