Welcome to my Branch of the Vine

“I am the vine, ye are the branches:


He that abideth in me, and I in him,


the same bringeth forth much fruit:


for without me ye can do nothing.”


John 15:5



I think this has got to be my favorite verse, especially since becoming a “Branch” in name as well as being a part of the True Vine, Christ. I never even thought of it when I met Kenny (Branch) 21 years ago. But since our marriage in 1985 and having our sons, Samuel and Andrew, it has grown to become our motto of sorts. Maybe I married a “Branch” so I would always have it there to remind me….that I am ONLY one of His branches….HE is the True Vine and I can not do one single thing apart from His power. It reminds me of a song I heard today on the radio, that I would enjoy singing if Andrew can accompany me on the piano.



In Christ Alone

by Brian Littrell

In Christ alone will I glory,

Though I could pride myself in battles won

For I’ve been blessed beyond measure

And by His strength alone I’ll overcome

Oh, I could stop and count successes like diamonds in my hands

But those trophies could not equal to the grace by which I stand

Chorus:

In Christ alone,

I place my trust

And find my glory in the power of the cross

In every victory

Let it be said of me

My source of strength

My source of hope

Is Christ alone.


In Christ alone do I glory,

For only by His grace I am redeemed

For only His tender mercy

Could reach beyond my weakness to my need

And now I seek no greater honor in just to know Him more

And to count my gains but losses to the glory of my Lord

Chorus:

In Christ alone

I place my trust

And find my glory in the power of the cross

In every victory

Let it be said of me

My source of strength

My source of hope

11/7/05

Leave a Reply

